Members of the Fox lab stand in from of the VTCRI. (David Hungate/ VTCRI)

Principal Investigator:

Fox-Outside VTCRIMichael A. Fox, PhD.

Director, Center for Developmental and Translational Neurobiology, VTCRI

Associate Professor, Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute

Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Virginia Tech

Associate Professor of Health Sciences, Virginia Tech

Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

Link to VTCRI Webpage for Dr. Fox

Link to Webpage for DTNC

Link to Webpage for neuroSURF

Dr. Fox joined VTCRI and the Department of Biological Sciences in October of 2012. Prior to joining VT, Dr. Fox was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology at VCU Medical Center in Richmond, Virginia (2007-2012) and was a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Dr. Joshua R. Sanes at the Center for Brain Science at Harvard University (2004-2007). Throughout his career his studies have focused on the role of extracellular matrix molecules in neural development. Currently, he is interested in uncovering roles for ECM molecules in synaptic targeting and synaptic differentiation. Dr. Fox has served as the President of the Central Virginia Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience and has received several prestigious awards throughout his career, including the Marian Kies award and the Jordi Folch-Pi Award, both from the American Society for Neurochemistry.

In 2016, Dr. Fox became the director of a newly established research center at VTCRI — the Center for Developmental and Translational Neurobiology.

Current Lab Members:

Jianmin Su, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor

Aboozar Monavarfeshani

Graduate Student, Department of Biological Sciences


Gail Stanton

VTCSOM Medical Student


James Cole

College of William & Mary Undergraduate Student

 Kaiwen Su

Research Scientist 

 Chase Amos

Chase Amos

UVA Undergraduate Student

 Cyrus Hutchison

VTCSOM Medical Student


Alicia Kerr

Graduate Student, TBMH Program

Ubadah Sabbagh (David Hungate/ Dominion Images Photography)

 Ubadah Sabbagh

 Graduate Student, TBMH Program


Gabriela Carrillo

Graduate Student, TBMH program


Courtney Knill

VTCSOM Medical Student

 Elizabeth Sugg

VTCSOM Medical Student

Zack Boone 

VT Undergraduate Student


Former Lab Members

Joseph Teamer

Virginia State University Undergraduate

neuroSURF – EIP Summer Program

Sarah Hammer

VT Undergraduate

Kia McClean

Hampton University Undergraduate

VTCSOM-Hampton Summer Program

Kumiko Lippold

Former VT Undergraduate and Scieneer

Currently a graduate student at VCU Medical Center

Justin Brooks
Former Graduate Student
Currently postdoc at U.Buffalo

 Jessica Wang
BS from Duke University
Currently medical student at UVA

  Rishabh Singh
BS from VCU
Currently medical student at UVA

 Sarah Sam
Former VT Undergraduate
Currently graduate student at CalTech

  David South

Former VT Undergraduate

 Joseph “Sam” Bircher

VTCSOM Medical Student

 Andrew Watkins

VT Undergraduate

Terence (Ted) E. Imbery

VCU Medical Student

Jonathan Van Name

College of William & Mary Undergraduate

neuroSURF Summer Program

Carl Levy

VT Undergraduate

Jiang (John) Chen, Ph.D. 

Research Scientist

Lara Dahora

Sabah Bangash

Karen Gorse

 Nathalie Spita
VCU Undergraduate Student
(Currently a graduate student at Johns Hopkins University)

 Tyler Lemon
Stanford Undergraduate Student

Alec Klemm
VT Undergraduate Student

Zack Printz
VT Undergraduate Student
VT Scieneer

Renee Smith Stenbjorn

VCU Graduate Student

Jesse Robison

VT Undergraduate Student

Cheryl V. Haner

VCU Graduate student